Call us  +49(0)201-1834053

University of Duisburg and Essen, Aquatic Ecosystems Research Group, Universitätsstr. 5, D-45141 Essen, Germany

New Publication

Post Image

A new paper by Vasco und Florian has just been published in PLOS ONE. In the study, we were able to detect over 80% of invertebrate taxa from a bulk samples using DNA metabarcoding. Further more we showed that with PCR based methods, estimating taxon abundance is not possible in such diverse bulk samples. Monitoring should thus focus primarily on presence absence data […]

Read More

Genome of the Arizona Snowfly published!

Post Image

We are happy to announce the publication of the mitochondrial genome of the Arizona Snowily Mesocapnia arizonensis (Plecoptera, Capniidae). This is already our second plecopteran genome which we assembled from existing next generation sequence data. We would like to thank Stacey Lance who publicly provided the Illumina data we used on NCBI. Our publication is available […]

Read More

New publication: RAD-seq

A new publication of the GeneStream Team has appeared in a special issue of “The Biological Bulletin” entitled “Discovering Diversity with High-Throughput Approaches”. First author Hannah Schweyen and last author Florian Leese are part of the GeneStream Team. The publication is part of a collaboration with Andrey Rozenberg, also from the Department of Animal Ecology, […]

Read More

Article GeneStream Project

Post Image

A short article on the GeneStream Project has just appeared in the Science Magazin of the Ruhr University, RUBIN. In the center of the article is the mesocosm experiment that we’ve just completed at the Felderbach. For Information (German and English) see below: http://rubin.rub.de/de/artenvielfalt-auf-dem-rueckmarsch http://rubin.rub.de/en/biodiversity-decline

Read More

New Publikation

This week a new publication to which the GeneStream contributed appeared in the journal “Freshwater Biology”. Lead author of the conceptual paper is Steffen Pauls of the Biodiversity and Climate Research Center (Frankfurt a.M., Germany). In the publication, we outline the new developments in molecular methods and their potential for aquatic ecology. SU Pauls, M Alp, M […]

Read More

New Publication

We have just published an article in a special issue of the US American Journal “Freshwater Science” which deals specifically with “Molecular Approaches in Freshwater Ecology”. Vasco Elbrecht of the GeneStream Team is the lead author of the study. Our paper highlights the potential of genetic approaches for addressing and answering ecological questions. The work […]

Read More

Call us  +49(0)201-1834053

University of Duisburg and Essen, Aquatic Ecosystems Research Group, Universitätsstr. 5, D-45141 Essen, Germany

Neue Publikation

Post Image

Wir freuen uns über eine neue Publikation von Vasco und Florian. Im der bei PLOS ONE erschienenen Studie konnten wir mit einem innovativem Laborprotokoll zeigen, dass Invertebraten über das neue DNA-Metabarcoding Verfahren sicher detektiert werden können, jedoch eine Aussage über die Häufigkeit der in der Probe vertretenen Taxa schwierig ist. Weitere Informationen gibt es in der Pressemeldung der Ruhr-Universität oder direkt bei […]

Read More

Weiteres Steinfliegen-Mitogenom veröffentlicht!

Post Image

Wir freuen uns, ein weiteres Steinfliegen-Mitogenom veröffentlicht zu haben. Wir haben das mitochondriale Genom der Steinfliege Mesocapnia arizonensis aus bereits in Datenbanken hinterlegten Illumina-Sequenzen zusammengebaut. Das PDF zu dieser Publikation ist hier auf ResearchGate kostenlos erhältlich.

Read More

Neue Veröffentlichung: RAD-seq

Paper

In einer Sonderausgabe der Zeitschrift „The Biological Bulletin“ mit dem Titel „Discovering Diversity with High-Throughput Approaches” ist eine neue Forschungsarbeit erschienen.  Hauptautorin Hannah Schweyen und Letztautor Florian Leese sind Mitglieder des GeneStream Teams. Die Arbeit ist zusammen mit Andrey Rozenberg entstanden ist, der ebenfalls Mitarbeiter des Lehrstuhls für Evolutionsökologie und Biodiversität der Tiere ist. Die […]

Read More

Artikel GeneStream Projekt

Post Image

Gerade ist im Wissenschaftsmagazin der Ruhr-Universität, RUBIN, ein kurzer Artikel zum GeneStream Projekt erschienen. In dem Artikel wird insbesondere das große Mesokosmos-Experiment am Felderbach im Jahr 2014 dargestellt. Hier geht es zu dem Beitrag sowie zusätzlichen Informationen: http://rubin.rub.de/de/artenvielfalt-auf-dem-rueckmarsch http://rubin.rub.de/en/biodiversity-decline

Read More

Neue Veröffentlichung

Paper

Aktuell ist eine neue Forschungsarbeit in der Zeitschrift „Freshwater Biology“ unter Beteiligung von dem GeneStream Team erschienen. Hauptautor der Arbeit ist unser Kooperationspartner Steffen Pauls vom Biodiversität und Klimaforschungszentrum (Frankfurt a.M.). In der Arbeit wird das Potenzial neuer molekularer Methoden für die aquatische Ökologie aufgezeigt. SU Pauls, M Alp, M Bálint, P Bernabò, F Čiampor […]

Read More

Neue Veröffentlichung

Paper

In einer Sonderausgabe der amerikanischen Zeitschrift „Freshwater Science“ mit dem Titel „Molecular Approaches in Freshwater Ecology“ ist eine Veröffentlichung unseres Teams mit Vasco Elbrecht als Hauptautor erschienen. Die Arbeit verdeutlicht das Potenzial genetischer Analysemethoden bei der Beantwortung ökologischer Fragestellungen und ist ein Gemeinschaftsprodukt unserer Arbeitsgruppe an der Ruhr-Universität mit unseren Partnern der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Link […]

Read More