Call us  +49(0)201-1834053

University of Duisburg and Essen, Aquatic Ecosystems Research Group, Universitätsstr. 5, D-45141 Essen, Germany

New Lab ‘member’: Tissue homogeniser for metabarcoding samples.

Post Image

DNA metabarcoding allows the identification of hundreds of specimens at the same time. This holds great potential for the assessment of freshwater and other ecosystems. However, the appropriate homogenisation of bulk samples for DNA extraction is critical, as we have shown in a recent study. For our future metabarcoding studies using complete benthic kick samples […]

Read More

SWS meeting 2015!

Post Image

We also presented our current metabarcoding research on the SWS Annual Meeting 2015 (Providence, Rhode Island, US). Vasco Elbrecht used this opportunity to talk with colleges from the university Guelph and other institutions about current research and future directions in DNA barcoding. We would like to thank the Rub Research School Plus for financing this stay. Video: This video summaries the metabardocing research we […]

Read More

Science Communication course

Post Image

Science communication is really important! Vasco Elbrecht has meet up with Eric Francavilla to learn more about science communication. Eric Francavilla works together with scientists at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Washington and helps scientists to communicate their findings to the public. Like the GeneStream Team, he is also producing YouTube videos. We learned many useful and specific things and […]

Read More

eLearning project receives 5×5000 award!

We are happy to announce that eLearning project “Blended Genome” from Vasco Elbrecht and Florian Leese was awarded with the 5×5000 award of the Ruhr University Bochum. We combine course teaching with video tutorials on YouTube to allow students flexible leaning of handling Next Generation Sequencing data. The first videos are already available on YouTube. Picture: The […]

Read More

Second MiSeq run successful

Post Image

The second MiSeq run is now finished. We are testing how many species we can reliably identify with our method. The lab work is now finished and we will analyse the data over the next month. It is planned to get these exiting results published by the end of this year. Additionally we have produced […]

Read More

Video: DNA extraction

Post Image

In this video we show how we homogenise our samples with liquid nitrogen to validate our metabarcoding methods. Once we have grinded the tissues to a fine powder, we divide it up on several reaction tubes and extract the DNA. With DNA barcoding and illumina sequencing we can identify the different species wich were present […]

Read More

New video of the mesocosm experiment 2014!

Post Image

This year we installed and ran our mesocosm system at the Felderbach (Ruhr area, near Hattingen). In today’s video, we show how we prepared the bottom substrate our experimental channels to represent the habitat of the stream as much as possible. All channels were prepared in the same way. Picture 1: All channels were filled with the […]

Read More

Experiment successfully completed!

Post Image

Yesterday, we have successfully completed our mesocosm experiment at the Felderbach in Germany. We started early in the morning to collect all animals, algae and leaf packs from the experimental channels. We and our colleges will analyse and test for a variety of response variables to the different stressors from microbiota to insect communities.Here you […]

Read More

Tag 4 des Aufbaus

Hier ist der Aufbau am 4. Tag im Zeitraffer zu sehen.

Read More

Call us  +49(0)201-1834053

University of Duisburg and Essen, Aquatic Ecosystems Research Group, Universitätsstr. 5, D-45141 Essen, Germany

Laborzuwachs: Gewebehomogenisator für Metabarcoding

Post Image

Mit der  DNA-Metabarcoding Technik können hunderte Individuen in Invertebratenproben auf einmal auf Artlevel bestimmt werden. Diese molekulare Methode besitzt großes Potenzial für die Gewässerbewertung. Wir konnten bereits zeigen, dass die Homogenisation des Gewebes besonders wichtig ist. Für unsere zukünftigen Proben haben wir daher einen neuen Gewebe-Homogenisator für das Labor angeschafft, welcher die Bearbeitung der Proben […]

Read More

SWS meeting 2015!

Post Image

Auch auf der SWS Konferenz 2015 (Providence, Rhode Island, US) haben wir unsere Ergebnisse vorgestellt. Vasco hatte zudem die Gelegenheit sich vor allem mit Kollegen von der Universität Guelph über aktuelle Metabarcoding- Vorhaben und Ergebnisse auszutauschen. Wir bedanken uns bei der Rub Research School Plus für die Finanzierung dieses Aufenthalts. Video: Die auf der Konferenz vorgestellten Inhalte sind in […]

Read More

Crashkurs in Science Communication

Post Image

Wissenschaftsergebnisse zu kommunizieren ist eine wichtige Sache. Vasco Elbrecht hat sich mit Eric Francavilla getroffen, um mehr über Wissenschaftskommunikation zu lernen. Eric Francavilla arbeitet mit einer Vielzahl von Wissenschaftlern des Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Washington zusammen, und fungiert als Schnittstelle zwischen den öffentlichen Medien und Wissenschaftlern. Genau wie das GeneStream-Team, produziert er eine Vielzahl von YouTube […]

Read More

eLearning Preis gewonnen!

5x5000 Preis

Wir freuen uns, dass das eLearning Projekt „Blended Genome“  von Vasco Elbrecht und Florian Leese die studentische Jury des 5×5000 Wettbewerbs überzeugen konnte und nun mit 5000 € gefördert wird. In Online-Videotutorials und weiteren „hands-on“-Übungen an der Universität vermitteln wir den Umgang mit Next-Generation-Sequencing-Daten. Die ersten Videos stehen auf YouTube bereits zur Verfügung. Foto: Die Preisträger vom […]

Read More

Zweite MiSeq Sequenzierung erfolgreich!

Post Image

Der zweite Sequenzierungslauf ist nun abgeschlossen. Wir testen in wie weit wir verschiedene Arten mit unserer entwickelten Methode sicher detektieren können. Die Laborarbeiten sind nun weitgehend abgeschlossen und die Daten werden über die nächsten Monate analysiert. Wir Planen die Ergebnisse gegen Ende des Jahres zu publizieren. Wir haben außerdem ein timelapse video zur Laborarbeit produziert. Abbildung […]

Read More

Video: DNA Extraktion

Post Image

In diesem Video zeigen wir, wie die Proben verschiedenster Gewässertiere im Labor homogenisiert werden und wie aus diesen zusammen die DNA für das Metabarcoding gewonnen wird. Sobald das Gewebe zu einem feinen Pulver zermahlen ist, kann es weiter bearbeitet werden, um die DNA zu extrahieren. Anhand der DNA kann eine eindeutige Zuordnung der Arten erfolgen, sobald […]

Read More

Neues Video zum Feldexperiment 2014!

Post Image

Dieses Jahr haben wir unser Feldexperiment am Felderbach (Elfringhauser Schweiz, nahe Hattingen) aufgebaut. In diesem Video zeigen wir, wie wir die Fließrinnen vorbereitet haben, um den Lebensraum des Flusses  standardisiert aber gleichzeitig naturgetreu nachzubilden, so dass Insekten und andere Organismen die Rinnen besiedeln können. Foto 1: Alle Experimentalrinnen wurden mit der gleichen Menge Substrat gefüllt. […]

Read More

Experiment erfolgreich beendet!

Post Image

Gestern haben wir das Mesokosmen-Experiment am Felderbach erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Bereits früh morgens haben wir alle Organismen, die Blattpakete sowie den Algenbewuchs standardisiert aus den Experimentalrinnen entnommen. Eine Übersicht über die Arbeit im Zeitraffervideo kann hier betrachtet werden: Bild 1: Die Algenbiomasse wird für jeden der 64 Channel sorgfältig konserviert. Bild 2: Für die Analyse der physiologischen […]

Read More

Tag 4 des Aufbaus

Der vierte Tag des Aufbaus

Hier ist der Aufbau am 4. Tag im Zeitraffer zu sehen.

Read More